Daylight Saving Time (DST) is the practice of pushing the clock forward 1 hour during the summer so that daylight in the evening lasts longer. Each year, DST starts on the second Sunday of March and ends on the first Sunday of November.
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) requires that employers track hours worked by nonexempt employees, who typically are paid by the hour. Although you can choose your own timekeeping system, it’s essential that the records you keep are accurate and complete.
Traditional leave plans separate time off into different categories, such as vacation, sick, and personal time. Employees are allotted a specific number of days or hours for each category. The time off, which is based on length of service, must be taken for the allotted purpose.
The process of terminating an employee should not be taken lightly, as improper handling can lead to unpleasant results, such as the employee suing the company. It’s therefore vital that you follow the law when firing or laying off an employee.
Although most wages are subject to SUTA tax, certain wages may be exempt. In New York, for example, wages paid to babysitters under 18 years of age, church employees, and certain family members are exempt from SUTA tax.
Not only has California raised minimum wage rates in 2018, but other states across the country have passed increases as well. In Vermont, for instance, the minimum wage went up from $10 per hour to $10.50. New York has gone from $9.70 to $11.10.